Showtime During Downtime

By Joseph Ryan Stefan

Due to the Easter holiday, the Gateway mall and its stores were closed except its movie theaters. Giving moviegoers, and disappointed shoppers, an option for the day

Movie-Goers wait to purchase tickets to a movie.

Movie-Goers wait to purchase tickets to a movie.

“My family does not celebrate Easter. We are not a religious family, so this morning we picked my mom up went to breakfast and saw the theater was open and decided to go see a movie,” said Cindy on her way out from seeing the film “War Horse.”

Along with the mall closed, stores like Target also sent shoppers on a detour to the theater.

“I came to do some shopping. Instead I am going to save my money by going to see a cheap movie,” said Peter Barr before going to see “Ghost Rider.”

Candy display at Cinemark keep customers guessing what they will enjoy during their movie.

Candy display at Cinemark keep customers guessing what they will enjoy during their movie.

A movie ticket only cast $1.50 at the Cinemark Movies 12. A popcorn and drink will cost you another $9.

According to the companies website with 297 theatres and 3,878 screens in 39 states, Cinemark is one of the big names in the movie industry. Giving them plenty of screens for the customers to choose from.

“I came to see the movie ‘Hugo’ but I didn’t know they were showing ‘Mission:

Miguel Navaro speaks with his friends on which movie they will go see.

Miguel Navaro speaks with his friends on which movie they will go see.

Impossible’ I’ve got some decisions to make and I’m not talking candy,” said Springfield resident Miguel Navaro.

Cinemark also has another theater, Cinemark 17, on the other side of the mall, which shows more recently released films at a higher price.

“My girls were not able to see Titanic when it first came out. I can’t wait for them to see it in 3D,” said Margaret Baldwin.

Gateway Mall sign on a day its doors were closed.

“Gateway Mall will be closed on Sunday, April       8th in observance of Easter,” was the sign on the entrances of the Gateway Mall on Sunday.

About jstefan65

I am a journalist that is in journalism school. I am in my junior year. I was a bartender in the city of Chicago for the last 7 years. I love sports but also love theater. I hope to leave a writing that will be translate that moment throughout time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.