Enterprise Story Update

Sources:

Who I have talked with so far:

1.Alan Dickman:Director of Environmental Studies, Research Associate Professor of Biology, Senior Instructor and Research Associate Professor of Biology

2.Devon Bonady: Second year masters student in environmental studies

Who has agreed to meet with me:

1.Kari Norgaard- Associate professor of Sociology and environmental studies

2.Melanie Knapp (tentative): Masters student in environmental studies

3.Thomas Mason: Grad student in geography and environmental studies

4.Andrew Dutterer (tentative): Master student in environmental studies

5.Patricia McDowell: Professor of geography and environmental studies

Who I have contacted, but not confirmed interviews yet:

1.Peg Boulay: Co-Director of the Environmental Leadership Program

2.Students Peg can suggest from her programs

Research: The environmental studies program at the University of Oregon aims to teach environmental research and activism, train leaders in creative problem solving, critical thinking, and responsible citizenship. With a team of more than one hundred faculty members from thirty campus programs, students are provided the opportunity to work with esteemed professors and researchers to achieve their degrees. Some of the most instrumental tools available for students are the environmental leadership programs. Matching student teams with non-profit organizations, governmental agencies and businesses students, students learn to address local environmental needs. There are currently three primary areas students can work in. These programs include the Conservation Science in Action, Environmental Education and Community Engagement Projects. All three areas are outlined at http://envs.uoregon.edu/elp_program/.

Issues:

1.I plan to talk about what the environmental studies program is doing as a whole to help improve and sustain the environment in Eugene. This will be a broad overview that many people are able to comment on.

2.I will then focus on the Environmental Leadership Program at the University of Oregon. I will talk to faculty and students involved and see what they are doing for the environment in Eugene.

3.Finally I will focus on one program from the Environmental Leadership Program, tentative to who is available, and find what they’re doing to help Eugene locally. I will capture their problems, failures, successes and goals.

Scene Possibilities: My number one goal is to be able to find a time to follow one of the environmental leadership programs into the field. I am currently communicating with professors involved to see if this is possible. If I am unable to do this, I will drop in on environmental studies classes, labs and professors doing research.

Plan of Approach: This week I plan to attain more interviews to learn more about my topic. I plan to also set a time to capture my “scene” in the upcoming weeks. I plan to gain a response from Peg Boulay because she is instrumental in the research and coordination of my paper (I will contact her again and again if necessary). I really need to find students involved in the programs to provide testimonial and further information. The most difficult part of this project is the timing. Everyone I contact is at the busiest part of their term and unable to offer their time. I, too, am extremely busy with all my studies so it is hard to coordinate meeting times.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.