Enterprise Update

Sources:

This week I plan to interview the director of the Barcelona program, Philip Speranza. This interview will be my official source, as he is a director. I plan on getting information on this specific program, check to see if he knows of any other architecture study abroad programs in the U.S. to compare to and possibly contact, and get his opinion on why he thinks the architecture and allied arts study abroad programs are beneficial to students. This source could potentially lead me to another official source as well.

I’m in the process of speaking with a student who is currently abroad in Vicenza, Italy. I have sent my interview questions to her and am currently waiting for her response that I should receive no later than this Friday.

I was able to get both of the above sources by going to the architecture department. The secretary of the department sent an email that I sent her to most students and faculty in the program. The results of the mass email led me to the above sources.

I have already interviewed an OSU study abroad adviser, Lillian Read, who works with students going to Central and Eastern Europe. I have her responses to my interview questions via email. When she answered the questions I had for her, she focused on interior design and art history majors only. Oregon State doesn’t have a wide selection of allied art majors, so I took the information that would be most beneficial to the story.

I have also interviewed three students from the architecture and allied arts program. One student, Michelle Vander Heyden, is in the architecture program. The other two students, Katarina Berger and Cortney Fuerch, are art history majors. These students were all in same study abroad program, however one of them took different classes than Berger and Fuerch. I thought it would be informational to get a few perspectives from the same program to get a better idea of how it works. Also, all interviewees had different answers as to why the program is beneficial to architecture and allied arts students.

I feel as if all of the sources I have interviewed have given me a good understanding of what the study abroad program entails. However, I plan to speak with an adviser in the architecture program to get some information on how much this program costs, what classes students can choose, how many students study abroad per year/term, etc.

I do not plan on  doing a profile story, as I am writing one story with two sidebars.

Research:

I am still researching on the background and history of study abroad programs and how individuals can be concerned by the program in general as well as it not benefiting students.

However, I have found a lot of information about why study abroad programs are so beneficial to students.

According to Kansas State University’s Architecture Program’s website,”Participation in study abroad programs benefits students in any major; however, students enrolled in architecture, interior architecture and product design, landscape architecture, and regional and community planning are particularly well served through the experience of studying in unfamiliar environments—it heightens cultural awareness, improves self-reliance and broadens professional horizons.”

Here are other websites that state why the UO study abroad programs are beneficial:

http://aaa.uoregon.edu/programs/international

http://studyabroad.uoregon.edu/index.php/students/interested-students/870-why-study-abroad

Here are stories that I have found on study abroad programs:

http://bit.ly/Kq96N8

http://dailyevergreen.com/read/Study-abroad-benefits-students

http://news.change.org/stories/studying-abroad-provides-huge-benefit-for-students

http://www.usatoday.com/news/opinion/forum/story/2012-01-18/study-abroad-global-economy-travel/52650834/1

http://ezinearticles.com/?How-International-Study-Abroad-Can-Be-Beneficial-to-Your-Education-and-Future-Career&id=5785071

The first url listed is the most similar to my angle. However, my angle will be different because I plan to get at least two sources that are out of state universities. The story that is most similar to my approach only has two university’s perspectives from various students and alumni. As far as the other stories that I have found that are above, they mainly focus on one university’s study abroad program. Again, my story will be different from others because I am focusing on more than one location of architecture and allied arts study abroad programs. Also, my story will be focused only on students who are majoring in architecture and allied arts.

Issues:

In my enterprise story, my main focus is to address why students and faculty of various universities think that study abroad programs are beneficial to students. I also want to address what students would like to add to their study abroad experience and why they think it would be academically beneficial for them. In my interviews, I have focused on what specific classes students took and what their assignments consisted of. I plan to add some information on the curriculum of the program so I can support why students think that studying abroad is beneficial.

I have not found any information on study abroad programs having any controversy.

Scene Idea:

Since most students that I will be speaking with have already had the experience of studying abroad, I plan to put the reader in a scene of when a student first got to their destination abroad or put the reader in a scene where a student is working on a specific assignment and add the sensory details I received from my interviewees. I got some great descriptions that should capture the readers interest right away in my lead. I will check with Suzi to make sure that this is acceptable before I make this permanent.

Plan of approach:

This week, I plan to interview Speranza and  will be waiting to hear back from the UO student who is currently abroad. I also would like to contact a Kansas University’s architecture study abroad program adviser who I hope could connect me to a student. I plan on asking Kansas University’s study abroad advisers if they have heard of any other architecture study abroad programs. I also plan on transcribing all of my interviews that I have currently completed and may need to follow up with some of them for more detail.

I need to focus on researching when studying abroad became a concern for not being beneficial to students and when studying abroad approximately started.

Some things that I have found that are challenging is having to go through architecture and allied arts departments to get contact information of students who have studied abroad because that is confidential information. Luckily, I started this assignment right away and have gotten replies from future interviewees that I will be meeting with this week.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.