Profile search: A lucky find

by Anna Bird

The one thing I knew about Churchill before we were even assigned to the neighborhood was the school district. I knew there were at least two or three schools in the area, and from my experience with public schools, I knew they were my best bet in finding a worthwhile profile subject.

One of the school programs in Churchill is the Bailey Hill Instructional Center (BHIC), which is a program for students who have been expelled from, or were having trouble with the other schools in the district. These kids are considered at-risk and need extra attention in order to receive an adequate education. Knowing this, I assumed there were more than a couple interesting stories to be found. I was hoping to interview a student who might give me some insight into the mind of a troubled teen trying to make it against the odds, or a teacher who worked harder every day just to give these kids a fighting chance. However, the person I found seems to be a much less dramatic or dark character, and more of just your regular do-gooder.

Tim Whitley works with an energy and water education grant program called the EWEB Education Partnership. He is a coordinator of the Conservation and Renewable Energy program, and he works within the Eugene 4J School District, investing a lot of his time in the Churchill High School, Kennedy Middle School, McCornack Elementary, and Lane County Head Start. When I called BHIC, a man referred me to Whitley because of the work he does in the schools and said he would be a “very interesting guy to talk to.” I didn’t want to get my hopes up because I have had my heart broken by possible profile subjects before.

However, Whitley called me back the next day and said he would be more than happy to help. I was delighted and felt very lucky to have made contact with him so quickly. I hope that when I interview him next week he will live up to my (probably high) expectations of being the most interesting subject I could have found on the first try.

About Anna Bird

Journalism student at the University of Oregon. Writer and Assistant Editor for The Siren. Designer for Ethos Magazine.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.