Finding a profile in North Eugene

I first began my profile search in the Lane 4J schools of the North Eugene community. I wanted to find a teacher or administrator who hasn’t been recognized for their achievements who should be.

I spoke with North Eugene High School Principal Eric Anderson and he informed me of a history teacher who recently won an award for her efforts to integrate “Peace, justice, and human rights” into her curriculum.

The teacher’s name is Clair Wiles and upon a google search of her name I found an article detailing her accomplishments in the Register Guard, ironically written by a former Daily Emerald co-worker of mine, Partick Malee.

Realizing I had been beaten to the punch, I asked Wiles if she knew of anyone else in the North Eugene community who should be recognized for their efforts. She pointed me to the Irvington Grange.

I decided to give the grange a call because I’m familiar with the national grange and their mission. A grange is a place where farmers and community members come together to help each other prosper economically, politically and agriculturally.

After contacting the Irvington grange i realized that it was a dead end, the most interesting thing they do there is a Monday night zumba class for senior citizens. Despite not finding anyone to write about at the grange, the woman I talked to there did tip me off to a man who is heavily involved in the community.

She informed me that a man named Jerry Finigan, a member of both the Santa Clara Community and River Road Community Organizations. He is heavily involved with the Santa Clara/River Road Outreach and Learning project (SCRROL), a program to help unify and educate the citizens of North Eugene neighborhoods on self-governance and public trust in their community.

Finigan has replied to my request and said he is interested in helping me tell his story. I look forward to meeting with him to talk about issues in the North Eugene communities and how these organizations help to solve them.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.