Politics and the game of confusion

By: Joseph Faltyn

Engaged… Concerned… Confused… Indifferent…

These are a few words that might best describe the current political feelings and sentiments of some, but not all, of the quiet residents of the River Rd. area of North Eugene.

“I’m confused, but I don’t really pay attention is my problem.” Said Kimberly Goad of Santa Clara when asked about her opinion on the current presidential election. “I’ don’t like our President now,” she went on to say.

But Scott Kent had a different opinion on the course of the election and it’s candidates. To him, it seemed like things might be a bit clearer in spite of his indifference towards the coverage it has garnered. “I’m about even on it.” He said with confidence. “I feel like I’m going to give the man another four years to figure it out.”

In regards to what he thinks about the, supposed, rhetoric and presidential debates he was a little more up front. “I listen,” he remarked with a smile, “and then when I’m done laughing I start researching.”

But, as we all should know, this coming election year isn’t just about deciding who will be the next occupant of the leather chair in the Oval Office. There are ballot measures and local candidates who are fighting their own way to Congress and the Senate. When asked to elaborate on some of those current ballot measures and candidates that she might have any thoughts or opinions on, Goad remarked that she had a hard time remembering, “Can you remind me of them?”

Kent, however, was a lot more vocal when asked the same question. “Number 80 for sure,” he responded. “Because I think we could be very prosperous when we legalize marijuana… We’ve lost the timber industry.” To many he makes a point. Medical marijuana has, according to some economists, the potential to make a significant impact on the local economy.

“I like to research the facts and understand what I’m going for before throwing in my support,” commented Amanda Stephens on her way to the bus stop. “But I’m confused because of the direction that the Democratic Party is taking.”

In spite of the limited number of people that were interviewed for this article, it might appear that they could accurately represent the very sentiments that so many voters across the country will confront as they find their way to the election booths in less than eleven days. It’s every American’s hope that we can all remain engaged and concerned. Just not confused and indifferent.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.