Profile Experience

By Nicole Daniel

Reflecting back on this entire profile process, I realize that there are a couple of things I would have done differently and many that completely worked in my favor. In regards to actually finding a profile subject, I should have started sooner and I should have spent more time walking around in my neighborhood and asking random people on the streets. However, since our neighborhood consists of only a small hand full of business, I chose to use the internet as my guide. Although this method took much longer because I had to wait for people to email me back, it ended up working in my favor. I never would have found my subject if I had chosen to walk through Churchill instead.

When it came time to actually interviewing my subject, I barely had to ask questions. What started out as a tour of his art studio quickly turned into two hours of amazing conversation. He told me things that I never would have known to ask about, despite having researched him ahead of time. Overall, he was a great interview subject and I thoroughly enjoyed every minute of talking to him.

There isn’t much I would change about my profile process if I had to do it over again. I’m not sure if I got lucky or if I went about the steps in the appropriate manner. Either way, I am very proud of my final piece.

About Nicole Daniel

Student at the University of Oregon majoring in Journalism and minoring in Multimedia.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.