Profile Experience

by Anna Bird

After doing this profile, I am happy with the story I am able to write, but there are definitely a few things I would have done differently. I am happy with the subject I found, but I also think I could have found somebody with a more interesting story. However at the same time I think my subject could have had more of a story if I had asked him different questions, and explored more of his personal life. He was insistent upon talking about his professional life, though, so I felt it hard to pry for more personal details.

I would have changed the way I prepared for the interview. I tend to feel over confident with my interviewing skills so I did little to prepare. If I could do it over, I would research him and the program he works for much more thoroughly, so I could have a better grasp on the language and structure of his job before engaging in conversation with him about it. I also think if I had researched him more I would have potentially found other things to ask him about besides his teaching career that could have sparked a more interesting direction in the story.

Lastly, after transcribing the interview, I noticed how many times I got too caught up in following the questions that I prepared instead of winging it and going with the flow of the conversation. That is something I definitely need to work on for future interviews. I feel comfortable having conversations with people, but in interviews I get so focused on the questions I prepared in advance that I forget to be conversational and go with the flow.

Oh and next time I am definitely going to find a second source well in advance of the deadline.

About Anna Bird

Journalism student at the University of Oregon. Writer and Assistant Editor for The Siren. Designer for Ethos Magazine.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.