Reflection on profile experience

By Adam Vaughan

After working on the profile assignment for over two weeks now, there are a few things I wish I had done differently.

The biggest thing I would change if I could go back and start over would be to figure out my subject earlier than I did. Even though I made phone calls and emails to several different people and organizations pretty early in the process, I did was not able to find someone interesting to profile until a few days before we had to. Even though I ended up getting very lucky by running into a fascinating story with the person I happened to find randomly, I can’t help but think that the process could have been a lot more of a struggle if I didn’t find her.

I also wish that I could have gone and watched one of the classes that my person teaches. My subject is the professor of an urban farming class here at UO and I think it would have been cool to see how see interacts with students and teaches them. The problem is, however, even if I did come to one of the classes, it would have been taught inside instead of outdoors in the school garden because of daylight saving time and it getting darker earlier.

I would have also taken better pictures. Even though I took a lot of pictures, the most important photo I took did not come out how I wanted it to. My subject’s eyes were closed and I would have taken another one if I could go back. This is just something small that I would change though.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.