Baseball Still Hits Home After Two Centuries

By Katie Cracchiolo

Growing up I was a dancer and a swimmer.  There was the occasional game of flag football at a family reunion and Giants game when my uncle and I were in San Francisco, but for the most part I sped away from football, basketball and other popular sports. I had other things that needed to take priority in my life and quite honestly, I didn’t understand the games. My senior year of high school I was recruited to join the marching band at the University of Oregon, and it took the first quarter of my first game in Autzen stadium to change my mind.

Later in my college career I became involved with the Oregon baseball team as a camera operator. Baseball quickly became one of my favorite sports, it’s easy to understand and there’s nothing like hanging out with friends in foul territory on a sunny day. I became obsessed and knew that I wanted to incorporate a game, whether it be a college sport or not, into my future.

Baseball icon Babe Ruth with Jack Dunn (center) and Jack Bentley (right) Photo courtsey of Flickr Commons

Baseball icon Babe Ruth with Jack Dunn (center) and Jack Bentley (right) Photo courtesy of Flickr Commons

Baseball is considered to be one of America’s greatest past times. The game in its simplest and purest form was being played in the United States as early as the 1800s. Today the sport is more complex than hitting the ball and running as many bases as you can before someone tags you out. It’s a process and a business, but still an incredible game. With dozens of reporters, analysts, anchors, and contributors ESPN is clearly the top dog in sports broadcasting. The network airs segments throughout the day devoted to over 20 men and women’s sports. The classics include baseball, football, and basketball, but ESPN’s Sports Center also covers multiple actions sports like BMX, snowboarding, and surfing. Other popular sports media outlets for all-access news and coverage include Yahoo Sports, Fox Sports, and the Bleacher Report.

Reporter  Bonnie Bernstein covered baseball on Sports Center and other ESPN and CBS affiliate programs for years. She was the first female weekday sports anchor out of Reno, Nevada. She continues to report for ESPN as a contributor to the Sports Center program.

Beginning his career as a major league player for the Cincinnati Reds, Aaron Boone played a total of twelve seasons. He joined ESPN’s Baseball Tonight as an analyst in 2010.

Sports are energetic, fast, and intense and they’re a common ground for the global population. Everyone can relate to and understand the spirit of competition. We compete with people every day to get where we want to be and that competitive edge exists in all of us.

About kcracchiolo

My essence is creative and provoking; it is powerful, fearless, and always reaching higher. I love all art forms, but am passionate about storytelling through photography and the written word. I envy all storytellers who came first and go back to basics for inspiration; the most beautiful things in life are those without embellishment. I hold my childhood closest to my heart for fear that I may start to take life too seriously. Being caught red-handed in the moment is what I live for. I am a student at the University of Oregon studying Journalism and Multimedia, and plan on starting my journalistic trek through the real world right now. I want to experience anything and everything; so please, hit me with all you've got.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.