The Whiteaker: A Place For Raw Creativity

By Katie Cracchiolo

The Whiteaker is one of Eugene’s most historic and vibrant neighborhoods. Named for Oregon’s first governor, John Whiteaker, this neighborhood is now home to a number of colorful businesses and individuals in Eugene.

Photo by Regina Ginsberg

Photo by Regina Ginsberg

Walking down the streets you will encounter a variety of public art displays from paintings, to carvings, to sculptures. The great thing about this art is that it’s where you would least expect it to be, carved into a tree and on the side of the buildings. Sculptures of anything made from everything can be found in the front yards of homes and on the sidewalk grass outside of local businesses.

The Ninkasi Brewery, one Eugene is best known for, is nestled at the edge of this neighborhood. It attracts locals, tourists, and university students and is hopping on any night of the week. Sam Bond’s Garage is another popular destination in the Whiteaker for students and locals. It hosts a variety of musical performances each week and is a place to relax and enjoy the night with friends.

Photo by Katie Cracchiolo

Photo by Katie Cracchiolo

A cold winter’s night doesn’t this community from coming alive. While strolling through the streets on Wednesday night, I encountered a number of people biking, running, and hanging out on the porches of their homes.

The Whiteaker is an amazing display of the creativity and culture that exists in Eugene. It’sthe true freedom of expression that makes this community thrive and come together.

 

About kcracchiolo

My essence is creative and provoking; it is powerful, fearless, and always reaching higher. I love all art forms, but am passionate about storytelling through photography and the written word. I envy all storytellers who came first and go back to basics for inspiration; the most beautiful things in life are those without embellishment. I hold my childhood closest to my heart for fear that I may start to take life too seriously. Being caught red-handed in the moment is what I live for. I am a student at the University of Oregon studying Journalism and Multimedia, and plan on starting my journalistic trek through the real world right now. I want to experience anything and everything; so please, hit me with all you've got.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.