South University Neighborhood – Steven Vantulden

In order to find information on The South University Neighborhood, our group utilized the government of Eugene’s website (http://www.eugene-or.gov/index.aspx?NID=535). We were able to find information regarding the boundaries of the neighborhood. The South University Neighborhood is located on the east on Patternson St. on the west, and on the west of Agate Street to the east. The neighborhood also consists from the north of East 24th Ave to the south, as well as the south of East 18th Ave to the north.

AgateHallImage 2LongStreet

The west side of Agate St.       The south side of East 18th Avenue.

I was unable to travel with my group on Sunday afternoon, so I ventured to the neighborhood on Monday morning 7:30 a.m. through 8:30 a.m. I grabbed my camera and tripod, and walked along the boundaries’ sides. I took multiple photos at each location specified within the neighborhood.  At the bottom of the post, I have posted a few of these images.

The weather of the area was partly sunny. The neighborhood streets were soaked wet with puddles from the previous night’s rain. The neighborhood was relatively quiet; I could only hear the sounds of chirping birds. The streets remained mostly vacant, as well. A few students either walked or biked towards the University of Oregon. In addition, a few local residents were out early while they walked their dogs. I passed a city park, as well as a small elementary school within the South University Neighborhood.

CarPicStreet 2Another view of the south side of East 18th Avenue.

CrossingSignStreet 2The north side of East 24th Avenue.NewPicStreet

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.